What Happens when A lady lived as Marilyn Monroe for a week

I’ve loved Marilyn Monroe since I was 8 years old, when a life-size poster of the famous subway grate scene from The Seven-Year Itch covered my bedroom wall. At 12, I convinced my mom to let me dress up like her for Halloween when I didn’t even have the boobs to fill out a white halter dress. In college, I read a dozen biographies and covered my dorm room with Ikea-framed black-and-white portraits of Marilyn that I printed in the library for 20 cents each.

Today, my look is inspired by my favorite blonde bombshell’s vibe. I wear winged liner and red lipstick everyday. I’m rarely in flats, and I love ’50s-inspired dresses and cat-eye sunnies. Recently, I snipped and dyed my hair into a blonde shoulder-length bob. On very good days (like, the best days ever), people will say that I remind them of a modern version of Marilyn Monroe.
Leave a Reply

